That House

OKIMG_6460Creative Commons License taymtaym via Compfight

 My family and I moved to a new house in Oregon when I was 12 years old. I lived in Ohio all my life before that so this was a big change. We moved because my dad had gotten a new job, one that he had been working towards for most of his life. The house that we moved to was a decent house. The steps leading up to a big front porch that had a creaking swing with rusting chains, needed a new coat over the peeling strips of white paint. The dark oak door with a golden lion headed knocker led into the hallway with glossed dark oak wood floors, the hallway sprouted into fours areas: when you first walk in there is a staircase leading up which is to the right of the wall and an entry way to the left of the wall that leads to the living room, on the left was a dining room with a china set followed by a study room with a towering bookcase, and on the right was a kitchen that had an island in the middle made of granite with bar stools that had dark, red, velvety cushions and a wine case beside the silver fridge. This house was pretty old according to my parents. Lots of weird things happened here to people that moved in they said. I didn’t really care, I was too busy being upset about my old home and lost friends. A couple of nights after we moved in I went into my room and it  had a very rank smell, like rotting meat or milk. It’s disgusting. I told my dad to check and see if there was a dead mouse in the vent or something, but there was nothing. After a week or so of this stench I started having nightmares. It consisted of just a women, my mom, and me. The same thing, every night. My mom and I would see this mangled woman and automatically start screaming. I could never see the lady’s face, but I guess in my dream it was just so horrible that I couldn’t process it. I told my mom and she said she’s been having the same dreams. After a few other weird occurrences such as waking up in the middle of the night downstairs while my room was upstairs or hearing a door slam in the house when no one else is home just made everyone go insane. My dad lost his job from going on a rampage at work, so it was just my mom helping us with money by working at a retail store. Months went by and the occurrences were getting worse, my dad restless and always angry, and my mom was always zoning out or stone-faced. By this time we couldn’t pay the rent anymore, my moms money from the retail job didn’t pay enough so we had to move in with her parents while we could save up for a different house. As soon as we moved out it was like the lights came on: my dad stopped being so restless and angry, my mom was put back on earth, and I just was glad to be put of there.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *